People interested in learning more about coal mining in Ostrava can visit the largest mining museum in the Czech Republic. It was established in the former Důl Ansel Mine, where you can learn everything about the history of coal extraction and the how mine rescue workers operated. Landek Park, named after Vrch Landek Hill, also offers coalminers' specialities in the Harenda Miner's Tavern.
Důl Ansel is the oldest mine in Ostrava. Excavation had already commenced by 1830. After mining operations closed, the complex was made into a mining museum. Visitors descend by an actual lift that had once transported miners in the past. However, the former shafts are not open to the public. Nevertheless, the illusion of the descent is memorable.
Visitors can see and touch everything for themselves. They feel just how heavy the equipment was that the miners used underground in order to reinforce the coal layers with which they worked. They will see a coal plow in action. Tours are guided by ex-miners. They use the language of the old coalminers, thus perfectly completing the mining atmosphere. Young visitors can crawl through the training course for mine rescue workers and see for themselves how hard it is to navigate in shafts that have been caved in.
Visitors can explore the forest atop Landek Hill where they can walk all the way to an old Slavic stronghold. The owners of the estate on the promontory, above the confluence of the Odra and Ostravice Rivers, guarded the Amber Merchant's Trail. Hlučínsko was also governed from here.
Landek is a one-of-a-kind place of discovery. A team of archaeologists discovered the Landek Statuette here—the ‘Venus of Petřkovice’, A prehistoric hunter carved it 25,000 years ago and archaeologists found it nestled beneath a mammoth's molar.
Landek is easily accessible via a cycling path that leads along the Odra River and links with the trail along the Ostravice riverbank. The path passes through the heart of Ostrava, all the way to the Beskydy Mountains.