Kunín Chateau's appeal extends beyond the fact that it is a gem of Moravské Kravatřsko's
baroque architecture and period-interior furnishings. Its rooms also serve as exhibit spaces for many expositions, cultural events, and tourists can also look forward to a museum here. It is renowned for its collection of products of nature, primarily crystals, minerals, and fossils.
The collection originated at the turn of the 19th
century, when it was established by owner of the Kunín chateau and estate
, Maria Walburga, Countess of Truchsess-Waldburg-Zeil. The mission of this collection was very noble, because the minerals served as teaching tools for the education of children from impoverished families that, thanks to the countess, were given an education here.
Maria Walburga continued to expand her collection thanks to her frequent travels across Europe. In this manner, she collected not only minerals and fossils, but also many scholarly books and various geology-related equipment. The collection had up to 3,000 items, and outlived Maria Walburga as well, who died in 1828. The priceless collection was dissolved in 1945 as a result of the events of the Second World War.
In recent years, just like the entire Kunín chateau, the collection has literally risen from the ashes. This was the work of Bronislav Novosad from Kunín, who put his own mineral collection on display here. The collection has been complemented by exhibits from other collectors and geologists with minerals from all around the country.