K personalizaci obsahu a reklam, poskytování funkcí sociálních médií a analýze naší návštěvnosti využíváme identifikátory zařízení - cookies (více informací). Dalším používáním portálu vyjadřujete svůj souhlas s jejich zpracováním.
Moravian-Silesian Region Official Travel Guide
What to do Culture and Traditions Museums and Galleries The John Amos Comenius Memorial in Fulnek
Local forecast
##DATE1## ##DATE2## ##DATE3##
##FORECAST1##
##FORECAST_IMG1##
##FORECAST_DESC1##
##FORECAST2##
##FORECAST_IMG2##
##FORECAST_DESC2##
##FORECAST3##
##FORECAST_IMG3##
##FORECAST_DESC3##

The John Amos Comenius Memorial in Fulnek

Today, the building where John Amos Comenius led his fraternal congregation stands as a memorial to this philosopher. The late-15th century complex includes a prayer hall, school, and garden. Today, it welcomes visitors to discover the life and work of Comenius, who worked in Fulnek.
With the departure of Comenius from Fulnek, the fraternal congregation closed. Local Capuchin monk Bonaventura (the Capuchin who burned Comenius's library) attempted to consecrate this prayer hall as the Catholic Saint Wenceslaus Church, but his efforts were not met with support. The building then served as a granary, and later even a riding school, before being purchased in 1691 by the local burgher, Eliáš Knurr. Once again consecrated, it served as a chapel, but in the nineteenth century, it began to deteriorate.

The former prayer hall became the John Amos Comenius Memorial in 1954, and the exposition was transformed entirely in 1992, when Fulnek residents celebrated the 400 years’ milestone since his birth. The exposition presents Comenius's life and introduces the history of the Unity of the Brethren. Those interested in learning more can continue to the Muzeum Moravských bratří (Moravian Brethren Museum) in Suchdol nad Odrou, which tells the story of the departure of the members of the Unity of the Brethren from Moravské Kravařsko into the world.
  Contact  
 
Památník Jana Amose Komenského ve Fulneku
Sborová 80
742 45 Fulnek
+420 556 741 015
The Poodří region
 
Contact Opening Hours Fees
Památník Jana Amose Komenského ve Fulneku
Sborová 80
742 45 Fulnek
The Poodří region
Free
Standard fee40
Kids20
Seniors20
Family Fee0
(poznámka ke vstupnému - placeholder)
[Error loading the control 'Offers', check event log for more details]
[Error loading the control 'Experiences', check event log for more details]
Hukvaldy
Discover the magic of the largest ruins in Moravia
Beskydy-Valašsko
Enjoy the view of scenic valleys and peaks of the Beskydy mountains from a bird’s-eye perspective during a sightseeing flight
Kozlovice
Try some specialties of Czech and regional cuisine, which inspired Leoš Janáček to compose the opera Her Stepdaughter!
Ostrava
The old blast furnace is now the foundation for a glass-walled café with views of the city
North Moravia and Silesia
Get inspired by the possibility of relaxation, give a rest to your body and soul
Ostrava
Explore the history of iron at this unique industrial site. You can even see the inside of a tall furnace!
 
Displaying results 31-36 (of 201)
 |<  <  2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11  >  >| 
FilenameDescriptionDownload