The chateau in Fulnek can be seen from far and wide, with its characteristic form and location in the landscape serving as an excellent point of orientation. It is one of the most famous landmarks of Moravské Kravařsko
The original castle guarding the historical border between Moravia and Silesia stood in this spot as early as the turn of the 14th century. Its first owners, then, were either the Lords of Lichtenburg or the later owners of Fulnek, the Lords of Kravaře. Other aristocratic families took turns as owners of the castle, which was gradually transformed into a renaissance chateau. Further renovations were carried out by the Skrbenský of Hříšť, before it was confiscated for the support of the Unity of the Brethren. The chateau was seized by the Swedes, who remained there until the end of the Thirty Years' War.
The greatest catastrophe was the fire of 1801 that engulfed the entire city and destroyed part of the chateau. In the mid-19th century, it was bought, along with the Fulnek estate, by King Leopold of Belgium for his son, Philip. During the war, the chateau served as offices for the Germans, and after the war was used for storage. Today, the chateau is under private ownership, and is not open to the public.