Vrbno pod Pradědem is located at the confluence of the Bílá Opava Creek, the Černá Opava Creek and the Střední Opava Creek. It is actually situated right below the highest summit of the Jeseníky Mountains. It is the gate to Jeseníky’s Protected Landscape area. Visitors appreciate the local nature, clean air, hiking and skiing.
Just like in many other neighbouring towns, Vrbno flourished due to gold prospecting. The first records about gold prospecting date back from the 11th century. Vrbno was founded on a merchant route that led from Bruntál to the Zlaté Mountains and Silesia. The route was protected by Castle Fürstenwald. The castle ruins are a favourite tourist destination.
Perhaps the most famed story from the history of Vrbno pod Pradědem is the defeat of the Swedish army that came in 1641 and camped on a hill by Vrbno. In June of the same year, a battle broke out between the imperial army and the Swedes, in which the Swedes were defeated and chased out.
One of the most noted monuments of Vrbno is the Church of St. Michael the Archangel. However, the church looks differently than what was originally planned. It is because during its construction, it became apparent that the sub-soil could not support the weight of the church. Therefore, only one tower was built instead of two. The church is a monumental edifice of the pure Empire style.