Jindřich Mine in Ostrava
First-time visitors to Ostrava, who are interested in learning the city's coal mining history, are often surprised that an original headframe stands right in the heart of the city.
It belongs to the Jindřich Mine. The mineshaft is located on Nádražní třída Avenue, one of the city’s most important thoroughfares that have linked the train station to Ostrava’s city centre since the industrial revolution.
The Jindřich Mine took advantage of this link to the Emperor Ferdinand Northern Railway. The mineshaft was originally nicknamed ‘Jáma X’ (‘Pit X’), which is why coalminers used to say they were going to excavate coal at the ‘tenner’. Although coal was excavated from this mine beginning in 1846, the tower that stands today dates from 1872. Nevertheless, it was the first steel head-frame in the territory.
Mining operations ended in the 1970s. Today, this memorabilia is one of the small number of headframes that have not been demolished. It remains preserved as evidence of the city’s mining history and as a keepsake of the traditional local colour of Ostrava.
OSTRAVAINFO!!! - pobočka Věž
Prokešovo náměstí 1803/8
702 00 Ostrava
Tel.: +420 599 443 096