Kunín Chateau is proof that the nobility’s residences were not built only for leisure or as an extravagance. Thanks to the local estate, Kunín became a place where local children could go to get an education. The most famous student to have attended the educational institution of Countess Maria Walburga was František Palacký.
This native of nearby Hodslavice attended the chateau school for two years, creating the foundation for the scientific work of the man labelled the “Father of the Nation.” This makes him the most famous student to have attended this school.
The park surrounding the chateau was where Klement Alois, Count of Truchsess-Waldburg-Zeil completed his second flight in a hot air balloon over the Czech lands. This was the year 1786. The chateau in Kunín, however, is also unique because it is a true baroque architectural gem. It was built by Austrian architect Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt, famous for building the Belvedere in Vienna for Prince Eugene of Savoy.
After the Second World War, the chateau fell into disrepair, and came close to being demolished, until it rose from the ashes in 1999, when it came under the ownership of the town of Kunín, who began to transform it into a cultural institution not just for itself, but for all of Moravské Kravařsko and the Moravian-Silesian Region. Today, Kunín is one of the most famous monuments, with visitor attendance growing each year. This is also helped by the fact that there is always something new to discover here.
The chateau visitors may come admire the original historical collections and authentically furnished chateau rooms. The chateau also houses the town museum with a mineral collection, continuing the tradition commenced by the original owner, Marie Walburga. Another factor of interest is the system of chimneys and chimney flues, also accessible to the visitors. The chateau park has undergone a noticeable transformation in 1999.
742 51 Kunín
Tel.: +420 556 749 420